Equatorial Guinea Profile
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Equatorial Guinea Profile

Location & Area:

  • Officially, the Republic of Equatorial Guinea, it is a tropical country situated in central West Africa bordering the Bight of Biafra (Atlantic Ocean) between Cameroon and Gabon, and it shares maritime borders with Nigeria and São Tomé and Príncipe.
  • It covers an area of 28,051 sq km (10,830 sq miles).


  • Malabo

Independence Day:

  • October 12


  • The climate is tropical with distinct wet and dry seasons. From June to August, Río Muni is dry and Bioko wet; from December to February, the reverse obtains.


  • Coastal plains rise to interior hills; islands are volcanic


  • 797,457 (July 2018 estimate)


  • Spanish (Official);
  • French
  • Portuguese


  • Equatorial Guineas flag is three equal horizontal bands of green (top), white, and red, with a blue isosceles triangle based on the hoist side and the coat of arms centered in the white band.


  • CFA franc

Administrative divisions:

  • It is divided into 7 provinces: Annobon, Bioko Norte, Bioko Sur, Centro Sur, Kie-Ntem, Litoral and Wele-Nzas.


  • It was approved by referendum on November 17, 1991.


  • Presidential Republic

President of Equatorial Guinea:

  • Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo

Natural resources:

  • Equatorial Guineas natural resources consists of Petroleum, natural gas, timber, gold, bauxite, diamonds, tantalum, sand, gravel and clay.


  • Agriculture products include: Coffee, cocoa, rice, yams, cassava (manioc, tapioca), bananas, palm oil nuts; livestock and timber.
  • Industries: Petroleum, natural gas and sawmilling.
  • Main exports: Petroleum products and timber.
  • Main imports: Petroleum sector equipment, other equipment, construction materials and vehicles.