Rwandan Profile
Rwandan Profile

The Republic of Rwanda is a small landlocked country in east-central Africa, it is known as the land of a thousand hills, located south of the Equator and east of Lake Kivu, one of the African Great Lakes. It is bordered by Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Tanzania, and Uganda.

Location & Area:

  • Central Africa, east of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, north of Burundi.
  • It covers an area of 26,338 km2.


  • Kigali

National Day:

  • July 1 (Independence Day)


  • Temperate; two rainy seasons (February to April, November to January); mild in mountains with frost and snow possible.


  • Mostly grassy uplands and hills; relief is mountainous with altitude declining from west to east.


  • 12,187,400 (July 2018 estimate)


  • Kinyarwanda (official language of Rwanda);
  • English;
  • French (official);
  • Swahili as the lingua franca in the African Great Lakes region.


  • Rwanda’s flag is three horizontal bands of sky blue (top, double width), yellow, and green, with a golden sun with 24 rays near the fly end of the blue band


  • Rwandan franc (RWF)

Administrative divisions:

  • It is divided into 4 provinces includes; Est (Eastern), Nord (Northern), Ouest (Western), Sud (Southern) and 1 city; Kigali.


  • It is latest adopted by referendum on May 26, 2003 and effective on June 4, 2003.


  • Presidential Republic

President of Rwanda:

  • Paul Kagame

Natural resources:

  • Gold, cassiterite (tin ore), wolframite (tungsten ore), methane, hydropower and arable land.


  • Agriculture products: Coffee, tea, pyrethrum (insecticide made from chrysanthemums), bananas, beans, sorghum, potatoes and livestock.
  • Industries: Cement, agricultural products, small-scale beverages, soap, furniture, shoes, plastic goods, textiles and cigarettes.
  • Main exports: Coffee, tea, hides and tin ore.
  • Main imports: Foodstuffs, machinery and equipment, steel, petroleum products, cement and construction material.